Représentants

thumbnail_IMG_8003_edited.jpg

Ryan Kerr

Ryan Kerr est un organisateur communautaire, animateur et éducateur travaillant dans le secteur du VIH depuis plus d’une décennie. Ses divers rôles ont inclus le tournage et le montage de présentations médicales sur le VIH, la conception, la programmation et la planification de conférences provinciales, nationales et internationales, et plus récemment une coordination avec la International Association of the Providers of AIDS Care (IAPAC) ayant pour but de s’aligner sur l’initiative Fast Track Cities.

Animateur | Le Pavillon du Canada à SIDA 2020 Virtuel

Celeste Hayward.png

celeste hayward

Originaire du nord de la Colombie-Britannique, Celeste est membre de Bear Clan et de la Première nation Wet’suwet’en. Au fil des ans, Celeste a revendiqué des territoires à Vancouver, Montréal, Regina, Toronto et Calgary. En travaillant avec les gouvernements provincial et fédéral, les conseils sans but lucratif, les organismes locaux de prestation de services, les organismes de bienfaisance, les Premières nations, les communautés métisses, les collèges et les universités, Celeste a développé et partagé ses compétences, ses connaissances, ses attitudes et ses valeurs pour améliorer son travail et son plaidoyer.

Guy Henri Godin.png

Guy-Henri Godin

Guy-Henri Godin a 55 ans et achève sa 6e année en tant que membre du Comité consultatif communautaire (CCC) du Réseau canadien pour les essais VIH. À ce titre, il représente la Société canadienne de l’hémophilie au sein du CCC. Comme 78% des hémophiles canadiens, il a reçu plusieurs fois du sang contaminé et vit avec le VIH depuis 34 ans. Il a été l’un des premiers individus au Québec à rendre public son diagnostic de VIH. Guy-Henri a été membre du Barreau du Québec et a pratiqué le droit pendant plus de 30 ans. Il a participé à plus d’une centaine d’entrevues à la radio et à la télévision et écrit des dizaines d’articles sur la séropositivité. Il enseigne plusieurs fois par an aux étudiants de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Montréal sur l’hémophilie, la gestion de la douleur, la vie avec le VIH et l’expérience passée de la vie avec le VHC. Il est un grand fan de hockey et des Canadiens de Montréal!

Maluba Habanyama.png

Muluba Habanyama

Muluba Habanyama est une activiste VIH noire. Muluba est née avec le virus à la naissance et a perdu ses deux parents à cause de maladies liées au VIH.

 

Elle est diplômée en journalisme du Sheridan College et diplômée de l’Université York où elle a obtenu un certificat en recherche communautaire. Muluba siège au conseil d’administration du groupe Teresa et travaille à temps plein au Réseau ontarien de traitement du VIH. Elle est également ambassadrice de la Fondation canadienne de recherche sur le sida et conseillère communautaire du Réseau canadien pour les essais VIH des IRSC.

Deborah Norris.png

Deborah Norris

Activiste et militante depuis son diagnostic de VIH en 1991, Deborah fait entendre la voix des personnes vivant avec le VIH dans les conseils d’administration locaux, provinciaux, nationaux et internationaux. Deborah offre un soutien par les pairs aux personnes vivant avec le VIH et une éducation communautaire sur les problèmes sociaux/psychologiques de la vie avec le VIH et les bases de l’infection par le VIH. Elle a reçu un prix de leadership communautaire de HIV Edmonton et a été mise en nomination pour un prix Femme de l’année.

Screen Shot 2020-07-03 at 00.29.39.png

christian hui

Christian Hui, MSW, RSW (il/lui) est un activiste colon asiatique queer cisgenre poz résidant sur le territoire Dish with One Spoon sur l’Île de la tortue/Toronto, Canada. Travailleur social agréé, il possède plus d’une décennie d’expérience professionnelle dans les secteurs du VIH et de la réduction des méfaits, soutenant diverses populations aux niveaux local, provincial, national et international. Christian est cofondateur de deux réseaux de personnes vivant avec le VIH : Ontario Positive Asians (OPA +) et le Réseau canadien des personnes séropositives (RCPS). Il est membre du comité directeur international de la campagne Indetectable=Intransmissible (I=I), membre du conseil d’administration de la Coalition interagence sida et développement (CISD), membre de l’équipe des champions de l’initiative Toronto to Zero de Fast Track Cities, membre du comité consultatif communautaire du Réseau canadien pour les essais VIH des IRSC (Réseau) et ambassadeur national de la Fondation canadienne de recherche sur le sida (CANFAR). Christian a joué le rôle de représentant de la société civile au sein de la délégation canadienne à la réunion de haut niveau des Nations Unies sur la fin du sida en 2016. En 2017, il a reçu le prix Personne vivant avec le VIH (PVVIH) du Ontario AIDS Network (OAN) et le prix Poz-TO en 2018. Il utilise ses connaissances dans le cadre du Programme de recherche communautaire sur le VIH/sida des IRSC REACH CBR Collaborative 2.0 et est membre du comité directeur sur l’indice canadien de stigmatisation liée au VIH. Christian a obtenu sa maîtrise en travail social de l’Université Ryerson et est récipiendaire de la Bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier.

Screen Shot 2020-07-03 at 00.28.56.png

Michael Parsons

Michael est un traditionaliste qui suit les voies de ses ancêtres. Il est un « clown philosophie » bispirituel qui défend la justice sociale et l’importance de la voix des Premières nations dans tous les aspects de la recherche et du développement communautaire.

David MacMillan.png

DaviD Macmillan

Consultant technique pour la Société canadienne de santé internationale, David peut apporter des réponses aux questions sur la programmation, la diffusion en direct, la page Web sidacanada.ca/aidscanada.ca et les ressources.

Il se consacre au transfert et à l’échange de connaissances en santé (KTE). Il a une formation en droits de la personne et en relations internationales et a récemment travaillé sur une stratégie de prévention combinée interprovinciale, en coordination avec des personnes GBTQ2S (HARSAH/HSH), des agents de santé publique et des prestataires de soins de santé à Ottawa.

Rencontrez nos représentants, chercheurs dévoués, gestionnaires de programme et activistes communautaires, qui sont sur place pour répondre aux questions et partager les messages de la riposte canadienne contre le VIH. Discutez avec les représentants au Pavillon du Canada, situé dans l’espace d’exposition à AIDS 2020 : Virtual.

Representatives

thumbnail_IMG_8003_edited.jpg

Ryan Kerr

Ryan Kerr is a community organizer, animator and educator who has worked in the HIV sector for over a decade. His various roles have included filming and editing HIV medical presentations, designing, programming and planning provincial, national and international conferences, and most recently coordinating with International Association of the Providers of AIDS Care (IAPAC) to align with the Fast Track Cities initiative.
 

Emcee | Canada Pavilion at AIDS 2020: Virtual

Celeste Hayward.png

celeste hayward

Originally from northern British Columbia, Celeste is Bear Clan from the Wet’suwet’en Nation. Over the years Celeste has claimed territory in Vancouver, Montreal, Regina, Toronto, and Calgary. Working with provincial and federal government, non-profit boards, local service delivery agencies, charity organizations, First Nations, Metis communities, colleges, and universities, Celeste has built and shared her skills, knowledge, attitudes, and values to enhance her work and advocacy.

 

Availability: 12 pm -2 pm (EDT)

Guy Henri Godin.png

Guy-Henri Godin

Guy-Henri Godin is 55 y.o. and is completing his 6th year as a CAC member. He reapply for another mandate of 7 years to represent the Canadian Hemophilia Society on the CAC. Like 78% of Canadian Hemophiliac he received tainted blood many times and has been a person living with HIV for 34 years. He was a member of the Quebec Bar and practiced law for over 30 years. He is a fiscalist specialized in Income taxes, the Federal GST and the Quebec Sales Tax (QST). He worked over 24 years for Revenu Quebec and was one of the first individual more than 30 years ago in Quebec to disclose having HIV. He gave over one hundred interviews on radio and television and wrote douzains of papers about being HIV positive. He teaches many times a year at the University of Montreal, Medical School, to students about Hemophilia, pain management, living with HIV and HCV (that he cured 10 years ago). He is a huge fan of hockey and of the Montreal Canadians (Habs)!

Availability: ​12pm - 1pm / 2 pm - 4pm (EDT)

Maluba Habanyama.png

Muluba Habanyama

Muluba Habanyama is Black, female HIV activist. Muluba was born with the virus at birth and lost both her parents to HIV related illnesses. She graduated from Sheridan College with a Journalism degree, and York University where she obtained a certificate in Community Based Research. Muluba serves on the board of The Teresa Group. Muluba works full time at the Ontario HIV Treatment Network as well is a ambassador for the Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research and is a community advisor for the CIHR Canadian HIV Trials.

 

Availability: 12 pm - 1 pm / 5 pm - 6 pm (EDT)

Deborah Norris.png

Deborah Norris

An activist and advocate since soon after her HIV diagnosis in 1991. She brings the voice of people living with HIV on local, provincial, national and international Boards. Deborah provides peer support to people living with HIV and community education on the social/psychological issues of living with HIV and the basics of HIV infection. She received a Community Leadership award from HIV Edmonton and was nominated for a Woman of the Year award.

Availability: 3 pm - 4 pm / 5 pm - 6 pm (EDT)

christian hui

MSW, RSW (he/him) is a cisgender queer poz Asian settler activist residing in the Dish with One Spoon Territory on Turtle Island/Toronto, Canada. A registered social worker, he possesses over a decade of professional experience in the HIV and harm reduction sectors supporting diverse populations locally, provincially, nationally and internationally. Christian is a co-founder of two people living with HIV networks: Ontario Positive Asians (OPA+) and the Canadian Positive People Network (CPPN). He is an international steering committee member of the Undetectable=Untransmittable (U=U) Campaign, a board director of the Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (ICAD), a Champions Team Member of the Toronto to Zero Fast Track Cities Initiative, a Community Advisory Member of the CHIR Canadian Trials Network (CTN), and a National Ambassador of the Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research (CANFAR). Christian served as a civil society representative on the Canadian Delegation to the UN High Level Meeting on Ending AIDS in 2016. In 2017, he was awarded the Ontario AIDS Network (OAN) Person Living with HIV (PLHIV) Award and the Poz-TO Award in 2018. He is a Knowledge User of the CIHR REACH CBR Collaborative 2.0, and a Steering Committee Member of the Canadian HIV Stigma Index. Christian received his Master of Social Work from Ryerson University and is a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar.

 

Availability: 6 pm - 8 pm (EDT)

Michael Parsons

Michael is a traditionalist following the ways of his ancestors. He is a Two Spirits "contrary clown" who advocates for social justice and the importance of first voice in all aspects of research & community development.

 

Availability: 11 am - 1 pm (EDT)

DaviD Macmillan

Technical Consultant for the Canadian Society for International Health, David can help answer questions about the programming, livestream, the sidacanada.ca/aidscanada.ca webpage and resources. He is dedicated to the health knowledge transfer and exchange (KTE). He has an education in Human Rights and International Relations and has recently worked on an interprovincial combination prevention strategy, coordinating with service providers, public health officials and healthcare providers in Ottawa. Availability: 10 am - 7pm (EDT)

Meet our Representatives – dedicated researchers, program managers, and community activists – who are on-hand to answer questions and share messages from Canada’s HIV response.

Chat with the Representatives Live at the Canada Pavilion, located at the Exhibition Space at AIDS 2020: Virtual, or email them directly.

AIDS CANADA

Production of this document has been made possible through a financial contribution from the Public Health Agency of Canada. The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the views of the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Get Updates

This site is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. We strongly encourage individuals to consult with a qualified medical practioner prior to undertaking any decisions, use or action of a medical nature.

© 2020 AIDS CANADA